Adam vs. Adam – The Feud That Isn’t

I am not objective when it comes to Adam Lambert. So when I heard Adam Levine’s remarks last night, I was not happy. It didn’t make sense to me to tell Nakia that he sounded better than the original right after saying he didn’t know the original.

Now I find that Levine has used that line before as a way of praising a contestant, and I actually believe that he was unaware of WWFM. Why? Because he’s said that before. I think it’s possible that Levine only listens to Maroon 5 music. I’m going to have to check, but it fires appear that Levine avoided giving his team contemporary music.

It was still a thoughtless remark and you’d think knowing current music would be part of his job, both as a songwriter and as a coach on show dedicated to finding future music stars. And why would anyone be proud of ignorance?

So I am not going to call it a jab at Adam Lambert at this point. I think it’s even possible he didn’t hear Cee Lo say what song Nakia was going to sing. But it was still a stupid thing to say.

This is in contrast to how Lambert handled things. We all knew he was going to be enthusiastic about Nakia’s performance because Adam has never failed to compliment such things as soon as he sees them. This is called good manners.

He used the same tweet to predict that Levine WOULD know who he was after his second album. This shows confidence without assuming that Levine would know about him now. It was also funny.

This was followed by him stating that he was a Maroon 5 fan, and that while he appreciated the support, fans should let it go. His feelings were not hurt.

The various reports of this situation have quoted one or both of those tweets, but they’ve ignored the third. This makes sense because it doesn’t refer to the situation at all. It’s just one of Adam’s normal “pimping” tweets, where he encourages his fans to seek out another artist’s material. As Adam fans, we’re used to this. It’s sweet.

It also shows that it’s possible to be aware of other artists even while building one’s own career, and how to be supportive without being negative about others. And the timing is interesting.

Do I think Adam planned this? I don’t know. I think he’s capable of it, of tweeting about Nikka to show how it’s done, but I also think he’s likely to have listened to her EP right then and tweeted in a burst of enthusiasm.

Either way, last night’s tweets show what we already know – he’s gracious, funny, confidant, respectful and supportive of others.

And there is no feud between the Adams, because I doubt either one cares.

About mamadeb

I'm a devoted fan of Adam Lambert, but also of cooking, knitting, science fiction and pretty anything pop culture. I'm @_mamadeb on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adam vs. Adam – The Feud That Isn’t

  1. samantha says:

    Priceless: “This is called good manners.”

Leave a Reply

