The Voice Finale

I did a lot of fast forwarding tonight, because I wasn’t interested in the packages or coaches’ comments. And because I wanted to get back to SYTYCD, which I’m not recapping because I don’t know anything at all about dance.

First duet – Vicci and Pat Monahan from Train. They sang “Drops of Jupiter” and she did a terrific job with a not-so-terrific song. Pat was generous and let her shine without reducing his stage presence. It was a true duet – the only one of the night.

Second duet – Javier and Stevie Nicks. They sang “Landslide” and I had problems. One was the arrangement – the beauty of “Landslide” is the simplicity. It’s a simple heartfelt talk. They made it more theatrical. And Stevie has such tremendous stage presence that she just takes over -and Javier doesn’t have stage presence at all. Javier got lost.

Third duet – Beverly and Ryan Tedder singing “Good Lives”, a song I do not know. And they do not work. Beverly overpowers him, and not in a good way.

Fourth duet – Dia and Miranda Lambert (Blake’s wife.) “The House that Built Me”, which has Miranda sing the line “You don’t know me from Adam” which will never not be funny. And Miranda tried. You could see her trying. She wanted to harmonize, she wanted to lift Dia up, but Dia’s breathy little voice wouldn’t let her.

Dia had the top selling song on iTunes, with Javier second. Javier wins. I am only mildly surprised, since I knew about the iTunes thing. He has a pretty voice – I hope it goes far.

About mamadeb

I'm a devoted fan of Adam Lambert, but also of cooking, knitting, science fiction and pretty anything pop culture. I'm @_mamadeb on Twitter.
This entry was posted in The Voice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

