S11 Top 12 Girls

Girls Night. Twelve girls, and there will be no more.

Once again, I will pretty much ignore the judges.

Also, the girls seem to specialize in creative spellings, so I will try to get them right, but no guarantees.

Chelsea Sorrell sings Carrie Underwood’s “Cowboy Casanova”. This is a mistake because inviting comparisons to other Idols can be a problem. Although I will say they have avoided that so far. She gets actual constructive criticism from the judges. Which is a shame because I thought she sang well.

Erika Van Pelt sings “What About Love” by Heart and she has a gorgeous, rich voice that can carry this song.

Jen Hirsh sings Adele’s “One and Only.” Yeah. She’s NOT Adele.

Brielle Von Heugel sings Otis Redding’s “Sitting on the Dock of the Bay.” And it’s bad.

Hallie Day sings “Feelin’ Good” by Nina Simone. And, yes, Adam did a masterful job with this, but it’s a song contestants love. It’s also cursed – no one has done well by it. But she does a nice job.

Skylar Lane sings “Stay with Me” by the Faces, rocking it powerfully country style.

I totally miss Bayley Brown’s song – “Every Little Thing That You Do”, but it’s country and that’s all I can say.

Holly Cavenaugh sings Christina Aguilera’s “Reflection” and starts out flat. She does get better.

Hayley Johnson sings Annie Lennox’s “Sweet Dreams” and I think I’m the only person who likes it. Ah, well. Randy hates it.

I really can’t judge Christian music, so I can’t say anything about Shannon Magrane’s song choice, Kathy Troccoli’s “Go Light Your World.”

Jessica Sanchez, who is the only non-white girl left, sings “Love You I Do” by Jennifer Hudson. I didn’t feel it but everyone else did.

Elise Testone also sings Adele’s “One and Only” and, again it’s too big for her.

The judges are useless again, but I do think the girls are talented and maybe, finally, after four years, we’ll have a female winner.

About mamadeb

I'm a devoted fan of Adam Lambert, but also of cooking, knitting, science fiction and pretty anything pop culture. I'm @_mamadeb on Twitter.
This entry was posted in American Idol. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

