American Idol Final Season Thoughts

Before I liveblog at least the first audition episode, I wanted to give a few thoughts.

This is the reality show that actually affected reality. This is the reality show that was such a juggernaut that other stations carefully programmed against it. This was the show that produced Kelly Clarkson and Carrie Underwood, Chris Daughtry and Adam Lambert. It spawned XFactor and The Voice and other such shows.

It has a legacy. And that is something very few shows, reality or otherwise, can claim. And that, by itself, is worthy of respect.

About mamadeb

I'm a devoted fan of Adam Lambert, but also of cooking, knitting, science fiction and pretty anything pop culture. I'm @_mamadeb on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to American Idol Final Season Thoughts

  1. I watched every season. In the beginning it was a family night. My young theater dork daughter and I would watch it together. She was 12 when it started. When she went to college we’d watch when she came home. She was home the year Adam Lambert was on and we voted together. We went to the AI8 tour together.

    Eventually she went on her way and I continued to watch but after the voting fiasco (in my opinion) I never voted again. Subsequent seasons came and went and I would check in from time to time but the residual bad feelings never went away and the show lost it’s luster.

    I will forever be grateful for the evenings I spent with my daughter. I will also always be grateful for the season that Adam was on. He was the boy next door. The theater geek just a few years older than mine, an underdog more talented than anyone else in the room. He was like one of my daughters friends, one of the family. So I thank Idol for the introduction and will watch this one last year because I was and always will be a part of my reality.

  2. BARBARA KLEINSCHMIDT says:

    very well said DEB……AND ABSOLUTELY TRUE

Leave a Reply

